Our Team

At the SDA we have a large team of people committed to protecting and advancing the rights of SDA members. This team is complemented by our large team of Delegates and Health & Safety Representatives in the workplace.


Executive Officers

Michael Donovan

State Secretary/Treasurer

Michael's history with the SDA commenced in 1977 when he started working as a Research/Industrial Officer with the Victorian Branch.  In 1992 he was elected as Assistant Secretary and then went on to become State Secretary-Treasurer in 1996.  Michael has been successfully re-elected for further terms ever since, most recently in 2018 when he was elected unopposed.

Trish Connelly

Assistant Secretary

Trish came to the SDA in 1994 with valuable experience within the trade union movement and work experience in a number of industries.  Trish was the SDA city Organiser for some time and also the Mornington Peninsula Organiser.  In 2001 Trish was promoted to Senior Organiser which saw her supervise a team of 20 Officials.  Trish was then elected as Assistant Secretary, and was most recently re-elected unopposed in 2018.  

Ada Scibilia


Ada was a Delegate of the SDA at Myer Melbourne for more than 10 years before she joined the SDA first as an Information Officer in January 2003 then as an Organiser in October 2004. She was elected as Vice President in 2010, and President in 2014.

Debra Becker

Debra Becker


Deb is a Delegate of the SDA at Kmart Horsham.  She has been a delegate since 1992.  She was elected as Vice President in 2014.

Sue Nance


Sue is a Delegate of the SDA at Coles Rosebud.  She has been a delegate since before 2001.  She was elected as Vice President in 2010.